Mission Statement: Willey Library Mission
Information literacy is a powerful foundation for every person’s education. We believe that libraries and librarians play a pivotal role in teaching individuals how to transform information into knowledge for academic success, civic engagement and personal enrichment.
History of The Willey Library
“The library is always a vital component of an educational system…”
Ken Raymond The History of Johnson State College: 1828-1984.
1866: The Johnson Normal School Library is located in the Academy Building, which becomes Chesamore Hall.
1897-1907: Boasts a “good educational collection for the period,” to include “an exhibit library containing nearly 600 school texts used in the graded and district schools.”
1919: A “trained librarian” uses the Dewey Decimal System to catalog the collection and also adds periodicals and state agency and federal documents.
1947: Johnson Normal School becomes Johnson State Teachers College and the library’s “nucleus of a good working collection [is] established.”
1962: While the library is still located in McClelland Hall, Professor Ken Raymond is appointed faculty librarian.
1963: The Vermont Legislature appropriates a sizable sum to construct a library and other new buildings at Johnson State.
1965: The library of the John Dewey Academic Center, named after the famed educational philosopher, is dedicated on October second.
1980: The collection grows to 82,424 volumes, the largest library collection in the Vermont State College System.
1985: Librarian Ken Raymond’s History of Johnson State College: 1828-1984 is published.
1985: The Vermont State College libraries begin cataloging online with a national service, OCLC. JSC reference librarians conduct literature searches using a dial-up modem and telephone connections to Dialog databases in Palo Alto, CA.
1987: The card catalog is replaced with an Online Public Access Catalog. Library instruction (now information literacy) is even more essential as libraries move into an increasingly electronic era.
1990: Joseph M. Farara is named Faculty Librarian.
1995: Ground breaking for the new Library and Learning Center takes place in the spring.
1996: Governor Howard Dean dedicates the new LLC in September, and the Books for the Third Century campaign is launched.
1997: A library website now serves as a main access point to the collection and is used extensively in library workshops and classes.
2007: A major upgrade to the JSC website features an expanded and improved library section with remote access to subscription databases as well as online tutorials and guides.
2011: The LLC renaming ceremony takes place on September 12th in honor of Richard Willey, a 1971 graduate of Johnson State College. The Library sponsors an exhibit, The JSC Library: Then and Now, showcasing an album of photos along with artifacts from the archives.