Alice Whiting Scholarship Endowment

This endowment honors Professor Emeritus Alice Whiting, Class of 1956, who had an exceptional career and a tremendous effect on education in Vermont, New England, and far beyond, during her 41 years at Johnson State College (1965-2006). She is an outstanding educator who has influenced the lives of thousands of Johnson State College graduates through her classroom teaching, chairing of the education department, and guidance of the licensure students. She was one of the primary architects of the graduate education program at Johnson, and has facilitated it in various capacities since its creation in the early 1970s. Her influence on her graduates has extended to the students in their classrooms, numbering hundreds of thousands of Vermont children. In Henry Adams' words, "A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops."


She is well known for her contributions to early childhood education, the teaching of reading, her love for children's literature, and the universal admiration of alumni over the last four decades. Her service to the college in areas beyond her teaching is likewise outstanding. She served on all the committees of the Faculty Council; as associate dean; as co-chair of the 1995 NEASC self-study committee; and as a member of the Fund for Johnson State College. She has served on the Alumni Council for 46 years, and is currently President (2008 & 2009). Professor Whiting is well known for her leadership and advocacy in local, state, and regional educational organizations. This service includes membership and leadership on the Johnson School Board, Vermont Council on Reading, Vermont Council on Teacher Educators, and New England Reading Association. In recognition of her service, she has been awarded many top honors, including the Jackie Gribbons Leadership Award and Sister Elizabeth Candon Award from the Vermont Women in Higher Education; Lyman Hunt Award from the Vermont Council on Reading; and the Johnson State College Alumni Association's Distinguished Alumni Award, Distinguished Faculty Award, and Distinguished Service Award. The awarding of Emeritus Professor status by the Vermont State College Board in 2006 was the capstone to an outstanding career.  The endowment was established in 2007.


The Alice Whiting Scholarship is awarded to a Vermont junior or senior majoring in elementary education with a strong academic record and potential for becoming an outstanding elementary teacher. This scholarship was first given in 2008.


Recent Recipients


Adina Barron, Elementary Education major with elementary licensure, Class of 2014, Morrisville, VT



Kathryn Johnson, Elementary Education major, Class of 2011, Hyde Park, VT


2009 & 2008

  • Hannah Plante, majoring in elementary education, Class of 2010, Morrisville, VT.