Emma K. Thompson and George E. Desmarais Scholarship Endowment

Emma Thompson and George Desmarais are both life-long residents of Lamoille County.


Emma Thompson retired from Johnson State College in December 2008, after forty years of service. She was the first person to have held her position at the college, having been hired by Freda Hebb in 1969 to serve as the initial Secretary to the Dean of Students. (Her title later became "staff assistant"). During her tenure, Emma has worked with nineteen deans of students and eight presidents. The Class of 1988 dedicated their yearbook to her, noting in part, Emma’s warm and cheery smile, her willingness to listen and her yearly jelly bean contest make her a tradition at the college. If Emma can’t tell you the answer to your question, probably no one can.” In 1989, Emma received the Freda Hebb Award, the college’s highest honor for a staff member, awarded in recognition of outstanding service. In her time at JSC, Emma has assisted countless students, staff, and faculty members, always with her customary grace and courtesy. She has contributed immeasurably to JSC.  This endowment was established in 2008.


In addition to being a longtime friend of Johnson State College, George Desmarais is a successful Lamoille County business owner and manager. He has been involved in many civic activities, including serving as a Town of Johnson official and as an honorary member of the Johnson Fire Department. He is a veteran of World War II.


The Thompson-Desmarais Scholarship is awarded to a JSC student who is a graduate of a Lamoille County high school, has a good academic record, an interest in community service, and financial need.


Recent Recipients


Maegan May, Business Management major with a certificate in nonprofit management, Class of 2012, Wolcott, VT



Hannah Plante, Elementary Education major with a concentration in music, Class of 2011, Morrisville, VT